About the Author:


C.J. Ballintyne

Dark Epic Fantasy, Horror

C.J. Ballintyne grew up on a steady diet of adult epic fantasy from the age of nine, resulting in a rather confused outlook on life – believing the good guys should always win, but knowing they often don’t. C.J. is an oxymoron; an idealistic cynic.

C.J.’s attempts at the craft of writing began in 1992, culminating in the publication of Confronting the Demon, the first book in “The Seven Circles of Hell” series, in 2013. In the Company of the Dead is C.J’s first book published by Evolved Publishing, and the first book in “The Sundered Oath” series.

For fun, C.J. speculates about taking over the world – how hard can it really be? If C.J. could be anything, it would be a dragon, but to be honest, C.J. shares more in common with Dr. Gregory House of House M.D. – both the good and the bad. C.J. is a browncoat, a saltgunner, a Whedonite, a Sherlockian, a Ringer and a Whovian… OK, most major geek fandoms. C.J. holds degrees in law and accounting and is a practising financial services lawyer.

C.J. lives in Sydney, Australia, with two daughters and a growing menagerie of animals that includes two horses but unfortunately no dragons.

Featured Books by
C.J. Ballintyne


Epic Fantasy / Horror /
Dark Fantasy

The Sundered Oath – Book 1

Only a fool crosses a god.

Pinnacle Book Achievement Award –
Fall 2016 – Best Fantasy

“…it’s perfect for the fantasy fan seeking depth, who appreciates a slow build-up before the fiery action begins. Such an audience will find this perfectly fits the definition of an epic saga: sweeping, complex, and ultimately engrossing.”
~ Midwest Book Review

“…an engrossing read, a good choice for fantasy fans who like a meaty storyline.”
~ Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews


Epic Fantasy / Horror /
Dark Fantasy

The Sundered Oath – Book 2

All the Left Hand of Death wants is something to call her own, but is the price too high?

“Returning fans will find many engrossing expansions of themes hinted at in the opening story, while newcomers will quickly be immersed in Ellaeva’s purposes and challenges and the actions surrounding her choices. Both will find this a powerful epic fantasy production worthy of reading, re-reading, and recommendation.”
~ Midwest Book Review

“Ciara Ballintyne fantastically creates this other world in every word, pulls you in and leaves you panting for more by the time you reach the final page. A truly satisfying read that will leave you ready for the next adventure.”
~ Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews


Epic Fantasy / Horror /
Dark Fantasy

The Sundered Oath – Book 3

After a lifetime of self-sacrifice, now Ellaeva must decide if she will give up all she has left.

Ellaeva has always known her path ends at the ultimate sacrifice—but can an embittered priestess bring herself to fulfill her duty?


Epic Fantasy / Horror /
Dark Fantasy

The Sundered Oath – Book 4

Details coming soon….

[Coming 2023]

All Books by C.J. Ballintyne

At this time, we have only the Featured Books above by C.J. Ballintyne. Please stay tuned.


Coming soon….

Published Books

Published Short Stories

Published Anthologies

Happy Readers